ATTENTION LANDOWNERS AND TENANTS

In accordance with the Iowa Weed Law, Chapter 317, Code of Iowa 2019 and Mitchell County ordinance No. 27 Prohibiting Noxious Weeds, it is the duty of landowners and tenants to cut, burn, or otherwise destroy noxious weeds before they go to seed. The Mitchell County board of Supervisors and the Mitchell County Weed Commissioner urge landowners and tenants to be especially watchful in 2021 for the following weeds and to mow repeatedly if necessary to prevent seed production. Please limit spraying of noxious weeds to those circumstances where it is not practical to mow or otherwise control the noxious weeds.

List of Primary Noxious Weeds includes: Buckthorn, Bull Thistle, Canada Thistle, Field Bindweed, Hoary Cress, Horse Nettle, Leafy Spurge, Musk Thistle, Palmar Amaranth, Perennial Sow Thistle, Quack Grass and Russian Knapweed.

List of Secondary Noxious Weeds includes: Velvetleaf, Buckhorn Plantain, Cocklebur, Multiflora Rose, Poison Hemlock, Puncturevine, Red Sorrel, Shattercane, Smooth Dock, Teasel, Wild Carrot, Wilk Mustard and Wild Sunflower.

List of Invasive Prohibited Plants includes (it is illegal to import, sell or distribute any part of these plants in Iowa): Garlic Mustard, Japanese Hop, Japanese Knotweed, Oriental Bittersweet and Purple Loosestrife.

Noxious weeds that are not destroyed by the landowner/tenant before they go to seed may be destroyed by the Weed Commissioner and the destruction cost will be taxed against the real estate on which the noxious weeds are destroyed.

If you have a weed problem please contact the Weed Commissioner by phone, Austin Walk 641-330-8986 or 641-832-0881 or by email: austinwalk@osage.net