PROCEEDINGS OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF MITCHELL COUNTY, IOWA

Thursday, January 2, 2020

The Board of Supervisors convened at 8:30 a.m. with all members present. Motion by Francis, second by Walk to approve the agenda. All voted aye.

Motion by Francis, second by Walk to approve the following committee and board appointments: FMC- ECI Board - Smolik with Franics as alternate; T- 21 Board - Walk with Smolik as alternate; NIACOG Board - Walk with Francis as alternate; North Central Regional Emergency Response Commission (NCRERC) - Smolik with Francis as alternate: Floyd/Mitchell/ Chickasaw Solid Waste Management Agency - Smolik and Walk as alternate; North Iowa Vocational Center (NIVC) - Smolik with Francis as alternate; Advisory Committee of the Mitchell County Home Health Care and Board of Health - Francis with Smolik as alternate; Second Judicial District Department of Correctional Services - Walk with Smolik as alternate; Trustee to Heartland Insurance Risk Pool (HIRP) - Francis with Smolik as alternate; REAP Committee - Walk with Smolik as alternate; County Emergency Management Commission - Smolik with Francis as alternate; Mitchell County Joint E-911 Service Board - Smolik with Francis as alternate; Local Elected Officials Development Board - Francis with Smolik as alternate; Mitchell County **Economic Development - Francis with Walk as alternate; Animal-Feeding Operation Complaint Investigations** contact person - Smolik District 2 and Walk for District 3; Area Agency on Aging County Advisory Committee -Smolik with Francis as alternate; Sister City Organization – Paulus with Smolik as alternate; Conservation Board - Walk as designated contact and Smolik as alternate: North Iowa Community Action – Franics with Smolik as alternate; Assessors Compensation Board - Smolik, Francis and Walk; Board of Supervisors Appointee to NIACOG Board – Rick Bodensteiner and Crystal Berche; County Social Services 28E Governing Board – Francis with Smolik as alternate; Fair Board – Walk with Smolik as alternate; North Iowa Juvenile Detention Services – Francis with Smolik as alternate; Mitchell County Wellness - Smolik; Substance Abuse Coalition Board -Francis: Upper Cedar Watershed Walk with Smolik as alternate; Upper Wapsi Watershed Smolik with Walk as alternate. Valent BioSciences Smolik; Iowa Workforce Development Francis with Walk as alternate; County Social Services Francis; North Iowa Port Authority Walk and Tony Stonecypher. NIACOG Revolving Loan Committee – Shannon Paulus; North Iowa Juvenile Detention Services - Smolik with Francis as alternate; North Iowa Long Term Disaster Recovery Committee - Smolik with Francis as alternate; North Iowa Regional Housing Authority -

Chrystal Berche; Wellness – Smolik and Shannon Paulus. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Walk, second by Francis to authorize County Auditor to issue warrants in payment of all county payroll, Iowa Public Employees Retirement, Social Security, Health Insurance and approved claims. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Francis, second by Walk to designate Mitchell County Press and St. Ansgar Enterprise Journal to be named the official newspapers for Mitchell County for 2020 and appoint Janet Johnson, publisher of the Mitchell County Press News, as an agent to serve notice of expiration of Right of Redemption and to be the legal publication when one publication is required. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Walk, second by Francis to designate Rich Brumm, Mitchell County Engineer, be authorized and empowered on behalf of the Board of Supervisors to execute the certification of completion of work and final acceptance thereof in accordance with plans and specifications, therefore in connection with all Farm to Market construction projects in the county. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Francis, second by Walk to designate maximum rates that are allowed to be reimbursed to County employees for meeting expenses: room – actual reasonable cost; a total per day of meals not to exceed \$30.00, and mileage reimbursement at the Federal rate (0.58). Individual meals may exceed the amount allowed if the price includes meeting room expense and shall be so indicated on the receipt. No meals will be reimbursed without a receipt. Appointments of Supervisors to various boards shall constitute approval for necessary expenses to those board meetings incurred throughout the calendar year of 2020. County Supervisors using a personal cell phone to conduct county business shall receive a monthly stipend of \$30.00 for partial monthly billing costs. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Walk, second by Francis to appoint Dr. Kelly Ross the Mitchell County Medical Examiner for 2020 with Mark Haganman, Jeff Nasstrom and Dr. Benson Hargens as Deputies with the coroner's fee to be \$100.00 plus mileage at the current county rate. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Francis, second by Walk to provide the following assurances to the DOT according to the provisions of the 1970 Uniform Relocation Assistance and Land Acquisition Policies Act:

- 1. It is the policy of Mitchell County to acquire right-of-way in accord with Title III of said 1970 Act as amended by Title IV, and applicable state laws.
- 2. It is the policy of Mitchell County to provide relocation assistance benefits in accord with Title II of said 1970 Act as amended by Title IV, and applicable state laws.
- 3. Mitchell County will contact the lowa Department of Transportation for assistance as needed to assure compliance with applicable laws which are summarized in the instructions entitled "Uniform Manual, Real

Property Acquisition and Relocations Assistance." Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Walk, second by Francis to establish a rate of 1.9 times the assessed valuation in acquisition of R.O.W. for local road projects and damages for fence removal at the rate of \$9.00 per rod for woven fence and \$7.00 per rod for barbed wire plus \$150 per acre crop damage allowance. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Francis, second by Walk to approve the 2020 Mitchell County dues and/or contributions to the following organizations: NIACOG dues @ \$.79 capita (rural only) \$3,672.71, Region 2 Transit assessment @ \$1.63/capita \$17,564.88 NCRERC dues @ \$.76/capita \$8,189.76. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Francis, second by Walk to appoint to the Mitchell County Land Compensation Commission for 2020 (lowa Code 6B.4) the following:

Licensed Real Estate Agents:

Dale Blakestad, Lisa Pollard, Clarence Kruse, Bob Muller, Kevin Kolbet, Phil Kolbet, Janean Kolbet.

Owner-Operator of Agricultural Property:

Paul Groth, Russ Bissen, Curtis TerHark, Deanna Eastman, Jack Edgington, Dean Theis, Rodney Kuntz, Pete Thome, Karl Theis.

Owner of City or Town Property:

Tom Heard, Richard Brown, Jerry Dunlay, L. Dean Pohren, Kelvin Palsic, Gordon Anderson.

Persons Having Knowledge of Property Values:

Scott Brandau, Rodney Patterson, Harold Landherr, Bill Denner, Dean Wright, Tim Schulz. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Walk, second by Smolik to nominate Francis as Chairperson of the Board of Supervisors. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Smolik, second by Francis to nominate Walk as Vice-Chair of the Board of Supervisors. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Smolik, second by Walk to set the following office days for Supervisors to be available in the Courthouse. Francis on Monday's, Walk on Wednesday's and Smolik on Friday's. Roll call vote: all voted aye. Meeting adjourned at 8:48 a.m.

Lowell Tesch - Mitchell County Auditor	Barb Francis – Chair Board of Supervisors