## PROCEEDINGS OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF MITCHELL COUNTY, IOWA

Tuesday, November 21, 2023

The Board of Supervisors convened at 8:30 a.m. with all members present. Also present were Jenny Backer, Rich Brumm, Aaron Murphy, Keith Horgen, Mike Miner, and Kris Olson. The meeting was made available by video via "Go to Meeting". Motion by Mayer, second by Hartogh to approve the agenda. All voted aye.

Motion by Hendrickson, second by Frein to approve the minutes of the November 14<sup>th</sup> meeting. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

County Attorney Murphy has some court hearings today. Murphy stated the County will be seeing some juvenile detention claims.

Sheriff Beaver was not available.

Kris Olson received the new EMA Tahoe last week and will have a 2013 Chevrolet truck available if departments would like to bid on it. Mike Miner discussed the Conservation Board meeting that took place last week. The Mitchell County Historical Society discussed with the Conservation Board that they would like to add to their current museum that sits out at Conservation. The Easy Ride Snowmobile club had their trail change approved by the Conservation Board. The Wapsi Trail gave their annual update. The Wetland property will open on December 1, 2023, for public hunting. There is a verbal agreement between the Mithcell County Conservation Board and with the Osage Conservation Club regarding Bennett Access that has been sent to the County Attorney.

County Engineer Rich Brumm said the Hwy 105 bridge will not be open before Thanksgiving. Brumm is working on closing out some projects and expects the two-year bridge inspections soon. Brumm stated they need to rate bridges for emergency vehicles.

Motion by Mayer, second by Frein to approve the Proposal on H-142 Bridge Replacement. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Hendrickson, second by Hartogh to approve the Proposal on I-232 Bridge Replacement. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

The chair opened the public hearing at 9:00 a.m. to amend FY 23/24 County Budget. The chair asked if the notice was published and available at the Auditor's Office, to which Foster responded yes. There were no oral or written comments received. Supervisor Mayer asked if the \$991,805 was the ARPA money for the HVAC, to which Foster responded yes. The chair closed the public hearing at 9:01 a.m.

Motion by Hendrickson, second by Mayer to approve Appropriations Resolution #1199-23. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Hartogh, second by Frein to approve the annual urban renewal report. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Mayer, second by Hartogh to approve the Courthouse holidays for calendar year 2024. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Items of Note: Wherry reported on Conservation, and Mitchell Soil & Water District, Hartogh reported on FMC Landfill, Mayer reported on Conservation, and North Iowa Community Action, Hendrickson reported on Shell Rock Watershed, and Wellness, and Frein reported on Fair Board. There were no public comments.

The BOS constituted themselves as the Board of Canvassers and proceeded to canvass the second-tier votes of the November 7, 2023, City/School Election. If was found that the following received votes for City and School offices as follows:

Laura Klaes	Osage School Director At-Large	461 votes
Elizabeth Rachut	Osage School Director At-Large	375 votes
Sheri Penney	Osage School Director At-Large	364 votes
William Morrow	St. Ansgar School Director District 1	286 votes
Steven Groth	St. Ansgar School Director District 2	285 votes
Kyle Tabbert	St. Ansgar School Director District 7	281 votes
Lynne Doane	City of Riceville Mayor	116 votes
Paige Porter	City of Riceville City Council At-Large	82 votes
Wade Wanner	City of Riceville City Council At-Large	102 votes
Nathan Kinter	City of Riceville City Council At-Large – TFV	81 votes
Luke Harken	City of Riceville City Council At-Large – TFV	109 votes

Wherry adjourned the meeting at 9:19 a.m.

Rachel Foster – Mitchell County Auditor

James Wherry – Chair Board of Supervisors