PROCEEDINGS OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF MITCHELL COUNTY, IOWA

Tuesday, March 5, 2024

The Board of Supervisors convened at 8:30 a.m. with all members present. Also, present were Ryan Stephen, Keith Pitzen, Sarah Elliott, Deb Freeman, Jenny Backer, Mike Gerdts, James Bird, Brian Fangmeier, Harlan Slaichert, Harley Slaichert, Dale Lubbert, Leland Minnis, Ron Gasteiger, Jackie Armstrong, James Berge, Pam Marzen, Joe Marzen, Skylar Thorson, Donnie Thorson, George Caron, Dean Graves, Keith Horgen, Penney Morse, Tom Rolfes, Dana Norby, Aaron Murphy, Mike Miner, Rich Brumm, Margaret Mayer, Doug Campbell, Steve Cooper, Sue Horgen, and Bill Perry. The meeting was made available by video via "Go to Meeting". Motion by Wherry, second by Hartogh to approve the agenda. All voted aye.

Motion by Mayer, second by Frein to approve the minutes of the February 27th meeting. Roll call: all voted aye.

County Attorney Murphy had nothing to discuss.

County Sheriff Beaver was not available.

Jenny Backer stated there will be a tour on March 15th of the Maple Inn. Backer said \$6,250 was paid back to the County from Charles and Sheryl Brindle from the Commercial & Industrial Incentive Program. Auditor Foster discussed changing the credit card if employees continue not turning in receipts. Supervisor Hartogh explained the City of Carpenter wanting to open the operator position up for bids.

County Engineer Rich Brumm discussed the contractor that will be fixing six panels on the Hwy 105 bridge, plans to begin next Monday pending weather. Motion by Hartogh, second by Wherry to approve pay request for BROS-SWAP-C066(76)-SE-66 in the amount of \$22,076.16. Roll call vote: all vote aye.

At 9:00 a.m. the Chair opened the public hearing to amend FY24 County Budget. The Chair asked if amendment was published in newspaper and available at the Auditor's Office, Foster responded yes. There were no oral or written comments received by the Board of Supervisors or Auditor. There were no public comments. The public hearing was closed at 9:01 a.m.

Motion by Mayer, second by Hartogh to approve Appropriations Resolution #1205-24. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Frein, second by Hartogh to approve the Treasurer's Monthly Report for February for total revenues processed was \$1,587,424.55. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Wherry, second by Mayer to approve Tax Abatement #343 in the amount of \$72.00 and Tax Abatement #344 in the amount of \$30,523.92. Roll call vote: all voted aye.

Motion by Wherry, second by Frein to approve a 60-day extension to Kent Kittleson on his In-Fill Lot Application. Roll call vote: Hartogh, Frein, Wherry ayes, Mayer, Hendrickson nays.

Motion by Frein, second by Wherry to approve an extension until September 30, 2024, for Lynn Hemann on his In-Fill Lot Application. Roll call vote: Wherry, Frein, Hartogh ayes, Mayer, Hendrickson nays.

The room was filled with citizens that do not support the CO2 pipeline in Mitchell County. Deb Freeman asked the Board to create a Hazardous Liquid Pipeline Ordinance. Margaret Meyer stated that forty-four counties have filed objections, and nine counties have passed ordinances. Dale Lubbert stated the Board should be worried about what their kids, grandkids and great grandkids will have to deal with. Doug Campbell explained that the State is trying to test the water with a current bill on items like pipelines and taking away local control. Sarah Elliott told a story with her brother that worked with pipelines. Lisa Ritzert was available on "Go to Meeting" and explained her concerns. Mike Gerdts read a letter he wrote and stated the Supervisors to 'protect their people'.

Wherry reported on HVAC Meeting, Hartogh reported on E-911, EMA, and FMC Landfill, Mayer reported on Substance Abuse Coalition, Hendrickson reported on County Social Services, and Frein reported on Valent. Received manure management plan updates for New Haven Site, and River View Livestock. There were no public comments.

Hendrickson adjourned the meeting at 10:00 a.m.

Rachel Foster – Mitchell County Auditor

Mark Hendrickson – Chair Board of Supervisors